Make a Difference Today

Contribute to make a change

Medical Council

The International Medical Council is responsible for credentialing of volunteers for international participation. It also advises the International Secretariat on drafting and updating of Smile Asia Medical Policies & Guidelines.

Dr Rashmi Taneja


Dr Rashmi Taneja has worked at various prestigious institutions in India and United States, and has extensive experience in the field of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. Dr Taneja had completed her Fellowship in Craniofacial Surgery from University of California, Los Angeles. She is certified by American Board of Plastic Surgery and a member of the American Society of Plastic Surgery. She has a number of publications and research papers to her credit.

Prof Wang Guomin


Prof Wang Guomin is Director of the Department of Oral, Maxillofacial Surgery & Cleft Lip/Palate Centre, at Shanghai Ninth People’s Hospital, and School of Stomatology, Shanghai Jiao Tong University in China. He is an oral and maxillofacial surgeon and a speech pathologist specializing in cleft palate and functional speech disorders. He received his medical degree from Shanghai Second Medical University, and obtained MD degree in Maxillofacial Surgery from Showa University, Tokyo, Japan. He also took his advanced training as a visiting scholar in oral & maxillofacial surgery at the university.

Dr Por Yong Chen


Dr Por has held prestigious positions, including Head of Department of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery at KK Women’s & Children’s Hospital, and won notable awards including the Owen Cole Young Investigator’s Award and Young Surgeon’s Award. He is actively involved in medical mission trips and charity work organised by Smile Asia to treat children suffering from cleft lip and palate anomalies across Asia. Dr Por also enjoys the art of photography.

Dr Josephine Tan


Dr Josephine Tan is a Senior Consultant at KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital and headed the Department of Paediatric Anaesthesia from 2006 to 2015. She completed her Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery from National University of Singapore in 1988 and became a specialist in Anaesthesiology following training in Singapore and Canada. She has been involved in many surgical missions as a volunteer and Anaesthesiology Team Leader.

Dr He Feifang


Dr He Feifang is the Chief Physician & Assistant Director of Department of Anaesthesiology & Pain Medicine, Deputy Director of the Centre for Intracranial Hypotension Management, Sir Run Run Shaw Hospital, College of Medicine, Zhejiang University; Vice Executive President, Branch unit of Sir Run Run Shaw Hospital, College of Medicine, Zhejiang University. He is also the Committee of Branch of Pain Management, Chinese Association of Integrative Medicine and Chinese shock Wave Medical Professional Committee. Dr He has joined numerous medical missions across various countries since 2007. He is also the board member of Future Smile Charity Foundation.

Dr Chng Chai Kiat


Dr Chng Chai Kiat is Head and Senior Consultant, Dental Service, KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital. He lectures at the Orthodontic and Pediatric Dentistry post-graduate programs. He holds the current appointment of Chief Dental Officer of Singapore. He is also a board member of the Dental Specialist Accreditation Board in Singapore. His areas of interest include biomaterials, cleft and its relation to airway space and sleep apnea; and on Surgery-First. He completed his Bachelor of Dental Surgery and Masters in Dental Surgery (Orthodontics) from the National University of Singapore. Subsequently, he completed a Fellowship Program in Cleft and Craniofacial Orthodontics from Chang Gung Memorial Hospital, Taiwan.

Deborah Smith


Deborah Smith is a Registered Nurse with advanced certification in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgical Nursing. She has been a nurse for over 40 years with experience in both surgical and paediatric nursing. She has helped to develop and managed ambulatory surgical facilities in the United States. She is the Clinical Nursing Advisor for Bright Faces, Inc.